How do you learn vocabulary besides WK and should I start already?

Hello hello,

as you can guess I am still pretty new to WK but am making my way to level 3 tomorrow. So far I am in love with the whole process of learning japanese, it’s been a long time I was so into something.

Anyway, today I’ve read that one should see WaniKani as a way to learn Kanji and some vocab while doing so. If you really wanna know more words and want to push further you gotta learn vocab besides WK.

So here I’ve got some question: is it really like that? I mean there are 6000+ vocabs on WK.

But more interesing for me: how do you learn?

For me, I would like to learn vocabs on paper, writing them down, grabbing them when I have some time and motivation and do it a little bit the easy chilled way.

Looking forward to what you think about that.

5 Likes

Personally, I’m just reading books and am relying on seeing a word enough times that I remember it. It does work.

But, a lot of people like things like Anki, it’s SRS just like WaniKani. Kitsun.io is another SRS.

10 Likes

Indeed, but they are kanji focused. You won’t learn a word unless it is for learning the kanji that it contains. This immediately removes kana-only words from the possibilities (a major part of which is the katakana words that are used). It also means, that certain rarer words are taught before more common words. また, which is a common kana-only word is taught on level 52 I believe, because you won’t see it ever as a kanji, and that’s exactly what’s taught to you.