How do I use KameSame and/or KaniWani effectively?

Hey! as you can see I am new to WaniKani and i have heard of 3rd party apps like KaniWani and KameSame
and (a paid subscription one but i would rather not have any other subscriptions rn) but I am unsure how to use either of them effectively, if you have any knowledge please share this with me! Thanks!

1 Like

Well I guess one thing to keep in mind if youre new is that not using them is very much an option and something I would personally recommend.

6 Likes

I haven’t used KaniWani or KameSame but I used another SRS app which is Anki simultaneously with WaniKani.

My advice is to wait until you are around level 15+ to decide whether or not you want to use another SRS app because right now you probably have a lot of time, but down the line, the higher your WK level the more reviews that you have to do and that could overwhelm you very quickly.

I stopped using Anki when I’m level 18 because I’m getting overwhelmed by the number of reviews each day and decide to focus on WaniKani and do a lot of immersion (reading and listening) instead.

Also this, KW and KS use WK API to connect your WK level so you don’t have much content to work with anyway if you decide to use them (at least for now).

Speaking only from my own experience… I used Kaniwani for a while (maybe until level 8). And I found it useful (apart from the irritation you will discover, of not being able to produce the answer it wants when there are many similar words for ‘girl’).
But then I found to try and do two SRS at once - I just didn’t have the time and couldn’t keep up. Too many reviews, and it was WK that I wanted to prioritise. So KW went out the window.

Obviously being able to produce the Japanese from the English, that would be important if I wanted to speak Japanese. But realistically, I just want to be able to read a bit of Japanese / understand it when I hear it on a programme.