How can I buy ebooks easily from outside Japan to read on iPad

Please help! I used to be able to switch fairly easily between regions on my iPad, and used the Honto website and app to get ebooks from Japan. Now I can’t seem to do it anymore, can’t update the Honto app (even though it’s free! - not available in my region!) and so can’t buy any new eBooks. Has anyone else solved this problem? I’m so frustrated with trying to switch, and have looked at different advice on the forums, but nothing seems to work.
If you do have a solution, please keep the steps as simple as possible! Otherwise it will all go horribly wrong…

1 Like

I have zero experience with eBooks or iPads so I don’t really know why I’m responding :stuck_out_tongue: but have you tried any alternative vendors? I don’t know that they all have region-locking so you might have more luck.

BookLive
eBookJapan
BookWalker

I get that it’s annoying having to change supplier though…

2 Likes

Hi, haven’t tried it myself, but most people get around geo-restrictions by installing a VPN on their device so the iPad thinks that you’re in Japan (Or any country you select).

There are many VPN services that let you try for free for the first few weeks.

The techspeak can get a bit complicated when you’re not tech-savvy, but you can always give it a try.

If the iPad ebookjapan app is anything like the Android one, you will need a VPN to get it outside Japan. I only had to use it to create the Google Play account and get the app, though. After that it was smooth sailing.

Another option to download ebookjapan app is using qooapp and register a yahoo.co.jp id. Afterwards, you can use ebookjapan app without using VPN whatsoever. Purchasing books is also convenient too.

1 Like