Help checking the grammar and vocab of a (short) translation of an original haiku

Hello there! I’m not sure I’m posting in the best category but I don’t know where else to turn to!

My sister has a very huge art project going on at the moment and one part of it consists of a haiku she wrote. Knowing my interest in the Japanese language, she asked me to translate it but I’m an absolute beginner so I did my best but I’m sure it’s chock-full of mistakes.
Would anyone of you be kind enough to correct it? Thanks a lot!

From love and from hate
My heart as a burning flame -
Infinite silence

愛からと憎悪 から
私の心暑い火
無辺な沈黙

4 Likes

Your translation looks very good! There is a lot of freedom in poetry, too, of course. I feel like 無辺 refers to a physical kind of limitless. Without bounds. 無限 might be a better choice, but yours might well be more poetic!

For the flame part, I would go with 炎 (ほのお). I think especially definition 2 here fits well, where it describes the flame can stand for burning emotions, both positive and negative: Jealousy, anger, love and so forth, fierce emotions burning in the heart.

ほ‐の‐お〔‐ほ〕【炎/×焔】

《「火(ほ)の穂」の意》

気体燃焼したときの、熱と光を発している部分液体固体では、燃焼によって一部気化し、反応している。ふつう最下部炎心輝きの強い内炎、その外にあり完全燃焼している外炎三つ分けられ、温度外炎内側で最も高い。火炎。「真っ赤な―が上がる

ねたみ・怒り恋情など、心中燃え立つ激し感情をたとえていう語。ほむら。「嫉妬(しっと)の―に狂う」

Here I would change the order of the words: (わたしの)炎のように燃える心 (my) heart that burns like a flame. You could also use 熱い instead of 燃える, then it would mean The heart that is hot like a flame.

Lastly, personally I would just leave out the と in the top line. Maybe put a comma there instead.

And it would take a lot more changes to turn the Japanese into a haiku form!

6 Likes