Happiness Week 8 - Absolute Beginner Book Club

Happiness Book Club - Week 8

Chapter 4 (part 2) ・ Pages 141-158

Start Date: April 23rd
Last week: Week 7
Next week: Week 9
Home: Link

We’re reading volume 1 of this manga as part of the Absolute Beginner Book Club.

Vocabulary Sheet

Building the vocab spreadsheet for the book is a joint project and everyone is welcome to contribute. Please read the instructions on the first page if you are doing this for the first time.

Discussion Guidelines
  • Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: texthere
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked
  • Join the conversation — it’s fun!
Page numbers for ebook readers

The page numbers quoted by ebook readers often don’t match the print version of the book. This is usually because they count the front cover and inside front cover as pages 1 and 2.

We’ll be using the original page numbering from the print version. These will be found on the bottom corner of some (but not all) pages in the digital version.

Often subtracting 2 from the “ebook reader page” will give the equivalent “print version page” but you’ll need to check your edition.

Participation poll

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion, please select ‘yes’!

3 Likes

Oho! How the turntables have turned! I am first!

I really want to try my hand at translating. Gotta look up half the grammar parts because they love to just pile them on and make verbs 3 times as long and half will probably be wrong, but here we go.

Summary

pg. 141
Gosho: “Thanks. I’ll start eating.”

pg. 142