Going from Wanikani/self taught to formal classes in Japan. Advice? Experience?

Hey friends!

So I will be relocating to Japan for work in the next couple months, and in doing so my employer requires part time formal language learning. Up to this point, I’ve been entirely self-taught and living in the US, where there is little opportunity to practice conversation, but I’ve definitely come a long way in my reading and grammar studies, and of course dabbled in listening practice via anime, YouTube, and a 1 month trial of jpod101. Mostly I’m curious what to expect transitioning to Japan and a classroom environment with this background.

• How quickly will my conversation abilities be able to catch up to my reading level?
  • For those with experience transitioning into a class room environment, how did Wanikani help you? Did you discover you needed to learn to write a lot of kanji? Were you bored at the beginning? Or were you too challenged because you tested ahead based on reading knowledge, but couldn’t keep up with writing, speaking, listening, etc.

There is some flexibility for me in choosing where I study Japanese. For instance, my supervisor mentioned a school that has a lot of Chinese students and so goes a little faster (since the Chinese also use kanji). Any tips on things we should look for or avoid, coming from a Wanikani curriculum?

Thanks!

As a chat room ninja, I try to avoid posting in forums myself but I couldn’t find one that dealt with this topic well enough. So hello everyone! :wink:

1 Like