How to achieve conversational level japanese in a few months?

Hi! As of the moment I’ve only just finished learning Hiragana and Katakana, so you could say that I’m a complete noob. My question is basically what the title says? From a self-study standpoint, what strategies do I have to take to achieve at least conversational level Japanese in a few months?
My family is planning a trip to Japan around March-April next year, and on top of that there’s a chance I’ll end up studying there for college, so I’d like to learn enough so I at least don’t end up embarrassing myself.
This is the first time I’ve posted something here as well, so any suggestions or advice would be helpful!

3 Likes

Find a personal tutor and study a lot? Use iTalki?

I guess it depends what you’re hoping to achieve.

I don’t consider myself very good at speaking Japanese, but then I remember that there are days when I only speak Japanese (i.e. weekends with my Japanese girlfriend). It has taken me years to get to that point, and like I said, I still make mistakes all the time.

3 Likes

But you can’t learn without embarrassing yourself and making mistakes. Even if you do screw up people will really respect that you are even trying. Although if you want to focus on talking its best to make some japanese friends and embarrassing yourself and making lots of mistakes and ask them to correct you. I’ve found drinking really helps aswell initially to finally take the shy edge of being afraid of mistakes away

7 Likes

Looking at the initial comment, OP might probably be underage. But on the other hand, it’s true that any mean is good to take that shyness away, because worrying about mistakes is a large wall to overcome on the road to fluency.