Getting My Groove Back (Motivation is a Must)

I did WaniKani consistently for the first year of living in Japan. And I thought it was THE way to learn Japanese. “Screw studying grammar!” I said. I’ve never learned a second language before and was very sadly overly optimistic about the possibility of learning through osmosis. I mean, I studied grammar some. So I got to level 25 of Wani and decided to take the JLPT N4 (a year and a half ago). Of course I aced the kanji section. But TANKED the grammar/reading/listening parts.

Reality check/Pity party. I know, I know, how foolish and immature of me. So for 6 months… I lost my mojo and quit studying entirely. Then I decided to go to language school, 5 days a week 3 hours a day (since this May). So far it’s mostly been review, but I have to admit the only reason I am able to ace everything is because of… WaniKani.

So now, reality check in hand, I have come back to serve the crabigator, hopefully faithfully, till the end. This time with a handful of other study habits going at the same time. But I don’t have the obsessive momentum I used to have, and I need to get it back.

I am not buried under reviews, and I reset to level 21, which was a good choice.

But by all means, please regale me with stories of your success and your joy as a slave to the Crabigator. I need all the motivation I can get!

8 Likes

Like infatuation, this obessive momentum you write of just doesn’t last; to find the long-term slow burn that will actually carry you through, you should think of and write down your long term and mid term goals (concrete, assessable stuff, not ‘I want to be fluent in 2 years’ type stuff) and your overall reason(s) for learning the language. This will be less exciting than the initial rush you felt, but will be far more enduring.

Still, you seem to be knuckling down with an impressive study schedule (something I’m kicking myself for not having done when I was there), so it sounds like you’re on the right track.