Exiting a test before I finish. New lesson bug?

Hi! I’m new to Wanikani and I’m currently still at level 1. I wanted to see if what I experienced was normal. I have done WaniKani more than a week now so I’m used to the timing interval. Normally what would happen to me is

1. I take a lesson
  2. Wait for a few hours
  3. Do a review
  4. Wait for a few hours
  5. Do a review
    Sometimes if I perfect a review a new lesson pops up without the time interval and it goes back to step 1

But yesterday I experienced something different

1. I took a review (26 vocab)
  2. Midway through the review I grew frustrated as I didn’t know the kanji reading so I click the home button on the upper left
  3. I’m back at the dashboard and there’s a new lesson with 2 vocab
  4. I took that lesson. Finished it and returned to the dashboard.
  5. The old review was still available (it’s the old one since it doesn’t include the two new vocab and it shows 26 vocab) so I took it again. Midway through it I got frustrated again so I clicked the home button again on the upper left.
  6. Now I’m back at the dashboard again. This time there’s a new lesson with 13 vocab.

All of this happened without any time intervals. Step 3 was weird enough since I didn’t finish the review yet but it might be normal. But I’ve never experienced step 6 before. I ended up finishing the review first before continuing to new lesson with 13 vocab. Nothing new popped up this time.

My question is, is this normal or is this a bug because I left the review midway?

PS I know now that I just need to click the middle button below the question to see the answer so I’m not going to exit the review in the middle of it anymore.

When you level up your radicals to guru 1, new kanji becomes available, and when you level up your kanji to guru 1, new vocabulary lessons become availabe. Could you be doing just that during your reviews?

1 Like