Do I need writing practice for radicals when studying 1st time

I have downloaded Quizlet app and started studying radicals from andreiblue radical collection,I have a few questions in mind.

1. do I need to practice writting radicals when studying newly ?

2. I studied few kanji from Heisenberg RTK book,
    Some of the radical symbol and kanji from that book are overlapping . But I saw different names for such symbols in my Quizlet flash cards .

My question here is why they are differentiating radical symbol and kanjis which are having same symbols with different meanings ?

Can someone please explain ?

Short answer: no.

Long answer:
I donā€™t know the andreiblue radical collection. However, the radicals in Remembering the Kanji (and Wanikani) are not the same as the ā€œofficialā€ radicals used in kanji dictionaries. Some DO match these ā€œofficialā€ meanings, but others are given arbitrary definitions in order to make them more memorable. Still others do not exist as ā€œofficialā€ radicals, but are considered radicals within RTK and WK because they show up so often in kanji. Similarly, Quizlet and andreiblue likely have their own arbitrary definitions, though I havenā€™t used those resources.

I donā€™t study writing at all, unless you count weekly ę›ø道 lessons. I think many people who use resources like Wanikani are similarā€“if you know a kanjiā€™s reading, then you can write the kanji using a computer or phone, so handwriting is unnecessary in todayā€™s electronic world. The time you would spend practicing writing could be spent learning new kanji or doing other studies instead.

Of course, if youā€™re someone who just enjoys physical writing, have at it, thatā€™s cool, too.

Also, RTKā€™s author is James Heisig, not Heisenburg! Heisenburg is a scientist, and Walt from Breaking Bad uses his name as a pseudonym. I think this is a great mix up though, and now Iā€™m imagining a bald Heisig with a top hat cooking up contraband kanji

6 Likes