Buying books

Hi all, I wanted to give reading an Absolute beginners book a try, but I’m having a hard time in actually buying a book… there is a link to Bookwalker but the site is in Japanese, at WK level 4 I don’t speak enough to actually buy something there :wink:

Then there is a link to Amazon.jp. I noticed I need a seperate account for that so I made a new account. But now the book only says ‘ready for download’ and I don’t actually see an option to buy or download it.

I guess this has to be done with Kindle. I already use Kindle with my EU account.
How do you guys do this, do you switch to your Japanese kindle account and then buy the book?
Which way do you find the easiest to buy a digital book without constantly having to switch from Amazon accounts?

8 Likes

Where do you live? Are you in Japan?

1 Like

I can’t really help you with Kindle because I use Bookwalker, but I just wanted to mention that Bookwalker is available in English via https://global.bookwalker.jp/

8 Likes

If you want to use Amazon for both, you have to either switch accounts all the time or buy a second kindle. Unfortunately you can’t log into a kindle with two Amazon accounts at the same time. Personally, I never used kindle on my Amazon US account, so I use mine exclusively with my Amazon JP account. Another option would be to use something like Bookwalker for Japanese and keep using your kindle for whatever you use it for today. It’s really up to you and your reading preferences.

5 Likes

Can you buy Japanese books from the global site now? I thought the global one was for their English books (but admittedly it’s been some years since I have used the non-japanese one, so could be wrong)

4 Likes

Thank you, but for what I see I can only buy English books/Manga on their English site?

2 Likes

If you can give me the title of your book I can show you step-by-step with pictures how to buy it if you want.

5 Likes