Bug reports/suggestions for WaniKani Notifier for Chrome (the original one)


#1

WaniKani Notifier for Chrome (0.2.3)

Heya, I thought I'd make a thread in this forum category as well since my old thread is in the wrong section and I don't know how to move it.

So I made a WaniKani Chrome extension some time ago. If you have any problems with it or any suggestions, feel free to post them here.

Current features:

  • Shows a little number next to the extension icon indicating how many reviews are available
  • Upon clicking this icon more information is presented, clicking the reviews link will take you directly to the review page here on WaniKani
  • Optionally displays a notification with an optional sound effect (I recommend Review Time! if you want to be scared shitless every time it's time to review)
  • Updates the review count as you do reviews (this does not always work perfectly though as more reviews can suddenly show up in the middle of a review session)
  • Only updates when it needs to (thanks to the API), unless there are reviews available, then it falls back on the "update frequency" setting
  • Do you have an irrational fear of numbers? Now you can hide them! Instead a plus sign is displayed when new reviews are available, and in the stats popup numbers are replaced with "some" (> 0) or "none" (0)

Changelog

  • 0.2.2 -> 0.2.3 (2013-01-22): made the extension work with the redesign! Sorry for the delay!
  • 0.2.1 -> 0.2.2: (hopefully) fixed a bug where you would get spammed to death by notifications while doing reviews (that was not intentional, no matter how much I love the REVIEW TIME! sound)
  • 0.2.0 -> 0.2.1: fixed a bug where the settings would reset. Added the option to hide numbers to avoid depression upon seeing you're up for over like 9000 reviews.

Don't like my extension and think I should go jump in a lake? Try t0asterb0t's extension instead, which confusingly enough is named the exact same thing as mine.



List of API and Third-Party Apps
#2

Thank you for posting up your own topic! Can’t wait to see the new implemented hide numbers thing :smiley:


#3
kanjilover said... Thank you for posting up your own topic! Can't wait to see the new implemented hide numbers thing :D
 The new version is out. The extension should update automatically soon enough I think. I added the feature you requested. If you have any thoughts on how to improve it, feel free to tell me here.

#4

Hi Kaerigan

i’m using the extension since before the API release.
I just finished a 35 or so review session that lasted roughly 10 minutes…yes yes i’m slow…so what??
My question is: is it normal that the “so adorable” jingle popped up like a bazillion times…like i heard it every f…ing 10 seconds…

What am i doing wrong? did i messed up something in the settings?

I like turtles


#5
OmbraXIV said... Hi Kaerigan

i'm using the extension since before the API release.
I just finished a 35 or so review session that lasted roughly 10 minutes..yes yes i'm slow..so what??
My question is: is it normal that the "so adorable" jingle popped up like a bazillion times..like i heard it every f..ing 10 seconds..

What am i doing wrong? did i messed up something in the settings?

I like turtles
 You're not the only one! I just pushed a new version and hopefully it's fixed now. Tried recreating the problem to the best of my abilities (which was kinda hard since I had no reviews available). Sorry! You did nothing wrong, I messed up.

#6

seeems like i am the only  one with the non working extension:



#7

I am so sorry about that, PhantomEye. But that screenshot makes me wonder. It seems to me like NO options are saved for you. I am using the sync API for Chrome extensions to save the options. I’m thinking there’s a problem with it in your browser or something. Could you perhaps…

  1. Open up the extensions page (right-click my extension for example and click “Manage extensions”) 
  2. Click “Developer mode” at the top
  3. Click on “_generated_background_page.html” under my extension 
  4. Click “console”. If there are any messages there, could you paste them here?
  5. Possibly enter “chrome.runtime.lastError.message” into the prompt in that window as well?
If that’s too big of pain in the butt (understandable) I really don’t know what to do since I can’t reproduce it on my end. I even tried installing Chromium and then adding the extension to that so that the install would be completely fresh. Worked as expected. Might be a cliché but have you tried reinstalling the extension? Also, what operating system or browser are you using? I don’t recognize the square-ness of the buttons. Grasping at straws here, just trying to come up with a reason why it doesn’t work.

I don’t know what else to suggest other than that you might just have to use t0asterb0t’s extension instead.

#8
Kaerigan said... I am so sorry about that, PhantomEye. But that screenshot makes me wonder. It seems to me like NO options are saved for you. I am using the sync API for Chrome extensions to save the options. I'm thinking there's a problem with it in your browser or something. Could you perhaps...
  1. Open up the extensions page (right-click my extension for example and click "Manage extensions") 
  2. Click "Developer mode" at the top
  3. Click on "_generated_background_page.html" under my extension 
  4. Click "console". If there are any messages there, could you paste them here?
  5. Possibly enter "chrome.runtime.lastError.message" into the prompt in that window as well?
If that's too big of pain in the butt (understandable) I really don't know what to do since I can't reproduce it on my end. I even tried installing Chromium and then adding the extension to that so that the install would be completely fresh. Worked as expected. Might be a cliché but have you tried reinstalling the extension? Also, what operating system or browser are you using? I don't recognize the square-ness of the buttons. Grasping at straws here, just trying to come up with a reason why it doesn't work.

I don't know what else to suggest other than that you might just have to use t0asterb0t's extension instead.                                
 Toasters extension isn't refreshing as it should, anyways, there are errors...

  1. Error during storage.get: Failure accessing database sendRequest:22
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'apiKey' of undefined background.js:211
chrome.runtime.lastError.message
TypeError: Cannot read property 'message' of undefined


#9

got the new version downloaded and the + setup is working good, no problems so far :slight_smile: thanks again for the implementation of the + sign! 


#10

@Phantomeye What operating system and version of Chrome are you running? Also, I threw together a test version of my extension that might fix the issue. If it does, Kaerigan should be able to make the change as well.

  1. Download https://www.dropbox.com/s/086zrk0io8j3bhk/wanikani-chrome-notifier-localstorage.zip
  2. Right click on the .zip file, click “Extract All…”, then click “Extract”.
  3. In Chrome, open the extensions page and enable “Developer mode”, as before.
  4. Make sure my extension is uninstalled, since this one will appear identical.
  5. Click “Load unpacked extension…” and select the folder you extracted earlier.
  6. Try saving settings and see if they persist, and also use Kaerigan’s steps to check for errors.
Let us know how it goes!

#11

OK so after a quick Google search it seems you’re not the only one with this problem and my extension is not the only one to suffer from it. Currently there seems to be no definite fix. A user at the Chromium bug tracker suggested that the error might indicate that your database (the one where I save values such as how many reviews are available) has been corrupted. One thing you might try is creating a new profile (Settings -> Users -> Add new user), then switching to that new profile and installing the extension.

I’m not sure how localStorage is implemented (that t0asterb0t is suggesting we fall back to), but if it’s like chrome.storage and uses “leveldb” whatever that is, it probably won’t work. Also, localStorage is a pain in the butt to use because all values are saved as strings IIRC. If t0asterb0t’s fix does work, I’ll try to implement it, though.


#12

I am aware the extension does not work entirely as expected at the moment on account of the new website update. The core functionality is still there but auto updating the review count no longer works. I know the review count is now visible in the upper right corner during a review session but still, it’d be nice if my extension followed along when items are completed. Working on it.


#13

0.2.3 released! Sorry for the delay! It should now work with the redesign. Please tell me if I’ve mucked things up.


#14

I’m loving this Chrome notifier - is there a way for a different colored indicator to come up when there are lessons waiting?  The number of lessons show up when I click on the icon, but if I don’t click on it, there isn’t any other way to know that I have lessons waiting (not that I don’t usually know, but it’s a good reminder that I should get on it).

Not a huge deal, esp if the notifier is just about getting your reviews done.


#15

Since I don’t think this guy is active on wanikani anymore, I took the liberty to update his extension for him.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0733t5t6e4vegad/WaniKani%20Notifier.crx

Drag this file into your extensions page.


#16
nqthqn said... Since I don't think this guy is active on wanikani anymore, I took the liberty to update his extension for him.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0733t5t6e4vegad/WaniKani%20Notifier.crx

Drag this file into your extensions page.
 Thanks! I was going to do this myself but I figured it would be done already by the time I got around to doing it.