Any way to speed things up...?

I’ve been studying Kanji for about 2 years using Anki and I’m pretty good at most of the Joyo kanji - along the way I’ve learned the radicals and subcomponents pretty well, so I just want to get on with it and get through the radicals and kanji on WaniKani quickly.

I really want to use WaniKani to develop my vocab even further (I’ve already got about 3,000 words in my head using Anki) but I can’t seem to access the vocabulary lessons/reviews. I struggle a bit with the UI so I’m not sure if I’m doing it wrong or if the vocab gets introduced after the radicals and kanji.
I wanted to fly through the radicals and kanji to see if the vocab becomes available.

The main problem is that the reviews seem to come round infrequently (I’m currently waiting 3 hours) and I’m not being offered new radicals or kanji to learn. I’m struggling to make this work for me for some reason…

If you want to learn vocab something like iknow would be better suited.

2 Likes

Hate to be the one to break this for you, but it won’t get any faster. It’s a pretty strict SRS system, so you can’t just skip ahead.

Wanikani should be used to learn kanji. Sure you can pick up vocab along the way, but it’s not made for vocab learning. Maybe Anki suits you better for these cases? I know there are quiet a few deck floating around this forum that might serve you well.

Hey, you should check out the FAQ which talks about this. It’s important to build upon what comes before, radicals and kanji, to learn well the vocabulary. The reason reviews take a while to show is because of their Spaced Repetition System, a.k.a. SRS. It may seem slow for now, but you will find yourself overwhelmed in no time

Sadly there is next to no flexibility in how to learn here. As Derpies said, it’s strict.

I’m pretty sure traveling close to the speed of light should shorten the wait a bit.

15 Likes