A level 60 celebration and some advice for newcommers

I technically reached level 60 two months ago but I had accumulated a backlog of vocab lessons from rushing the last 10 levels that I finally completed this week:

I started WaniKani in November of 2022, so it took me roughly a year and half to cover all the material. I’m in my late 30s so it feels a bit strange to think that within the span of two years I went from seeing kanji as inscrutable moon runes to being able to derive meaning from them. In some ways my life hasn’t changed much over those two years, but a whole new world is now within reach!

Do note that I’m a freelancer who works from home, so it’s easy for me to find time throughout the day to do my reviews and on top of that I’ve used similar SRS systems to study Portuguese and Russian in the past so I knew what I was getting into and I knew what I was getting into and how to use these tools efficiently. I don’t think my pace is necessarily reasonable for people whose lifestyle is not as permissive as mine.

I want to thank the script writers for allowing me to work around some of the limitations of the website (WaniKani would be near-unusable for me without undo). In particular I extend my deepest gratitude to @Joeni for continuing the legacy of Flaming Durtles, it was my main WaniKani interface and improved the experience massively for me. I also highly recommend the keisei script, the more kanji you know the more useful it becomes.

With the benefit of hindsight I can also answer some of the questions and doubts I had when I started:

How good are you at Japanese once you’re at level 60?