10分で読める物語 二年生 Story 6 (カンガルーの 赤ちゃん)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

10分で読める物語 二年生 Home thread

Welcome to the thread for the science story called カンガルーの 赤ちゃん from the book 10分で読める物語 二年生!

Start Date: 06.11.2019

Previous thread: 10分で読める物語 二年生 Stories 4 (お月よ) & 5 (パンのかけらと小さなあくま)

Next thread:

Reading schedule:

• 06.11.2019: page 73
  • 07.11.2019: page 74
  • 08.11.2019: page 75
  • 09.11.2019: page 76
  • 10.11.2019: page 77
  • 11.11.2019: page 78 & 79
  • 12.11.2019: page 80
  • 13.11.2019: page 81 & 82

Vocabulary List

10分で読める物語 二年生 Vocab

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events on the current page and any content in future pages.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m planning to catch up later
  • I’m skipping this book
  • I will join a future story

0 voters

Page 73

生まれたばかり の カンガルーの 赤ちゃんの ようすは 、どんなでしょうね ?Wonder what a kangaroo’s newborn baby’s appearance is like? (or more naturally) Have you ever wondered what a newborn kangaroo looks like?

Comments

ばかり 3. just (finished, etc.)​ Usually written using kana alone, after the -ta form of a verb
きみ君はそれをお終えたか」「とんでもないはじ 始めたばかり だ」 * “Have you finished it?” “On the contrary, I’ve just begun.”

I wrote 生まれたばかり as newborn because it sounds better than just born.

でしょう Expression 1. it seems; I think; I guess; I wonder ​ More polite than だろう which appears in a later sentence.
だろう Expression sometimes is omitted

1. seems; I think; I guess; I wonder; I hope

https://japanesetest4you.com/flashcard/jlpt-n5-grammar-だろう-darou/

https://jlptsensei.com/learn-japanese-grammar/だろう-darou/

ここは、動物園 です。 This is a zoo.

Fun Facts

https://www.punipunijapan.com/vocab-lesson-5-the-zoo/