šŸ‘» Autumn's High Tech Study Log āœØ Learning Japanese at the speed of light with tech šŸ«Ø

TL;DR I am very nerdy and use a research/experience based approach to learning. I am not afraid to get my hands dirty by writing code to optimise my learning. Follow along to see all the cool things I invent along the way :stuck_out_tongue:

who am i

hi my nameā€™s autumn! 26f from the UK. Autistic, coder and very very lazy. I am new here, been using Wanikani for 3 days!

I have been learning for 63 days so far, so I am still a newbie.

I have a 1700 duolingo streak, but I do not care about learning on thereā€¦ the streak is just symbolic to me at this point as something I do no matter how bad or great my life is.

*my motivation"

for a long time i have been a big fan of anime, jpop and kpop. Iā€™d like to visit japan one day too and i am having a lot of fun!

what i've done
  • learnt hiragana (tofugu guide)
  • katakana (although i still find it hard to read words, i plan to pratice thisā€¦)
  • started an anki vocab deck, i really like JLAB as it talks about grammar, uses phrases some animes I have seen / want to watch, and itā€™s actually quite funny.
  • Pimsleur - it is a bit of a bore but I find it very effective and fun :slight_smile:

I also set up my own sentence mining workflow so I can grab words / sentences I see often and put them into anki :slight_smile:

my anki workflow for sentence mining
  • yomitan
  • jp-mining-note
  • jpdb freq dict (i love seeing how popular words are that i see)
  • sharex for audio + screenshot
  • i have mpv and mpvacious setup but i mostly use animelon. i dont really use any automation here eitherā€¦ i do use a texthooker but its not like my anki cards automatically create with sentence audio + screenshot, im too lazy to do that
  • anki (fsrs, heatmap)

i have around 200 vocab / sentences in my anki deck over the last 2 months, which is pretty great for a newbie!

why wanikani?