白人 - Controversial or not?

I was recently doing Wanikani at school (I am an English teacher), and the above kanji showed up in my reviews. The Japanese language teacher that sits next to me was very shocked to see I was learning that kanji, and told me it is considered discriminative/derogatory. She told me the same applied to other potential combinations of the above, with different colours.

So my question is, is this a derogatory term or not? I must admit I was a little shocked to find it on Wanikani, but didntt think much of it at the time… I don`t want to use it or continue having that up on my screen if it is considered offensive in some way, especially at my place of work. Any thoughts?

EDIT: UPDATE BELOW

11 Likes

I haven’t encountered anyone suggesting that it’s a sensitive term before. I’m not really sure there is a better term if you’re going to explicitly mention someone’s race.

The teacher in question seems like an outlier to me, in terms of their threshold for what terms are sensitive. Perhaps they experienced someone’s negative reaction to it in the past, or came to this feeling by having discussions about race relations in other countries. They might be uncomfortable explaining why they feel that way more, but it would be interesting to know.

11 Likes

I see… I think I will ask her more about it then. We`re close enough that I feel comfortable asking. Thank you!

8 Likes

I can’t speak for them, but I imagine they’re more or less surprised you would learn it. It can be seen as discriminatory if used that way, but I imagine its similar to how kids learn bad words, eventually you’ll learn it anyways or you’ll see it somewhere it a book/tv/etc. Its like the difference between “saying” a bad word vs “using” a word.

4 Likes

I’m not sure it really is a “bad” word though. Typically if a word is sensitive, one of the leading places you’ll see it avoided is NHK.