凄い: Positive or Negative?

Hello!

Before learning this vocab, I was under the impression that sugoi was 100% positive 100% of the time. I thought it meant something regarding “Awesome!” “Amazing!”

However, with the recent new review item batch from July 25th, the vocab for sugoi was added. There I found that sugoi can mean both Amazing/Wonderful and Terrible/Awful.

From the little amount of Japanese TV programmes/movies I have seen, saying “Sugoi!” as a sentence on its own is of course perfectly fine grammatically. But how does a Japanese person know what meaning is being conveyed there? At least when spoken, there is some sort of emotional context, but this is not the case when the word is written.

In reality, is there some grammatical difference between the two meanings, or am supposed to get the meaning purely from context?

4 Likes

I’m not that experienced when it comes to stuff other than light novels and childrens’ books, but the way I’ve seen it used in books is something like “凄く (negative word here)”, which means basically means something like “very (negative word here)”. That would probably be pretty weird to translate as “wonderfully (negative word here)”, so I personally just assumed that’s why it has the negative-sounding meanings too.(“awfully scary” probably works better than “wonderfully scary”, for instance)

Since I’m pretty insecure about most things, I’ll add my usual disclaimer about this just being the way I’ve seen it used, that I am capable of making mistakes, and that it’s fairly late at the moment

6 Likes

So it’s kind of like the word very, and if I say"That’s very!" in Japanese, it is implied that the context is positive?

1 Like

“Very” is an adverb, so saying something is “very” doesn’t make sense. Instead, think of 凄い as “amazing”. 凄く is the adverb form, so “amazingly”, or as we’d usually say in English “very”.

Obviously meanings and translations will vary, but hopefully that helps.

3 Likes