Your favorite mnemonics?

I’m still pretty new to WaniKani, but I’ve already seen some pretty ridiculous/hilarious mnemonics. These are one of the main reasons why I’ve come to prefer WaniKani over other options, like RTK.

What are your favorite mnemonics? I think the one that has stood out the most for me so far is this:

You visit your mom who lives inside of a car. It’s sad, and you feel bad. The first thing that pops out of your mouth is: "Cool Room, Ma (くるま) because you don’t know what else to say about your ma’s living situation.

10 Likes

Mrs. Chou will always be my favorite. Maybe because that is the one which made me really “get” mnemonics.

8 Likes

The reading mnemonic for 時 was pretty funny to me.

Time in a temple makes you think of Jesus (じ). Specifically, Jesus being able to perform time travel magic. He winks at you, goes back to the dinosaur ages, where he wrestles a T-rex. Then, he goes to WWII era and punches Hitler in the mouth.

the two that’ve stuck in my mind a year or more later have been sugar tom (姿) and the auto-rope (衰える).

1 Like