Where can I find explanation for grammar points?

Currently I am studying grammar from ,well everywhere but manily from bunpro and anywhere you go they just give you translation and how to use it, there is no explanation behind it. I am not asking for much, at least general idea behind this grammar point. Plz help.

There is a readings-section in Bunpro, though?

5 Likes

I don’t read that tbh🤪

Yeah, but they do provide some ways to get explanations.

1 Like

Regardless, they are useful, I find, especially when they link back to grammar dictionary page numbers.

3 Likes

Yes there is a reading section where you can find sources for the explanations, but for example there is とすると、となると grammar point and it just says the result of this grammar point, I don’t understand why there is する there because it is clearly a transtive word so someone is supposed to do something, but who? They same goes with 匂いがする grammar, noone says why it works like that, it just works XD.

1 Like

I don’t think it’s that beneficial (in terms of target language acquisition) to think about too much “why this grammar means this” or “why does this expression have this in it”. It just does. It’s Japanese and that’s how it works. For 匂いがする, you wouldn’t really think literally a smell is doing something.

I’m trying to make a distinction here between actual grammar study and thinking why some grammar works like this, because it’s probably not very clear.

3 Likes

You can find a list of grammar points py JLPT level here:

https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/JLPT_Guide/JLPT_N5_Grammar

Hope that helps somehow :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Well then, a guess i will do so too XD

Setting aside the discussion of whether it is helpful to parse every grammar point piece by piece, する is sometimes transitive and sometimes intransitive. As noted with something like 匂いがする, that’s an intransitive usage. There is no omitted direct object there.