When did you stop using furigana for vocabulary?

I’m still a beginner in the grand scheme of things (passed N5 last December) and currently I’m finding a lot of cool vocabulary resources that I’d like to use but seem more geared towards someone who’s already got more kanji under their belt. Currently I’ve been learning vocabulary with furigana, and then I learn the kanji for it through WaniKani at a certain point and that bridges the two together for me.

I was wondering when (WK level, JLPT level, time spent studying Japanese, etc.) some of you switched from learning vocabulary like this to learning without furigana. Did you make a big push in WaniKani to a certain point and then shift towards more vocabulary? I’d love to hear your kanji+vocabulary learning strategies so I can copy you :smiley:

1 Like

Well if you can find resources that use furigana then that’s great. I’ve just been using whatever I find interesting and things encountered in the wild don’t have furigana so I’ve never really got into using it. If there’s a word I don’t know and I’d like to look it up then I just try hand writing the strokes into jisho or using the sort by radicals.

I don’t quite get your question… Presence of furigana depends on the material you’re reading. If it’s there it’s there. Well, there are exceptions like NHK news easy where you can toggle furigana.

So… it’s a choice of materials you are asking about. Well, the longer you avoid reading text without furigana the longer you will be relying in it. But’s not like it’s bad. A lot of native manga for teens has furigana. Thus, it’s useful for the native speakers as well, while they are still learning.

2 Likes