When did you first feel like you could actually read Japanese?

Not necessarily looking to get there any time soon, but I wonder when you started feeling like you could actually read things in Japanese. Not just separate kanji or whatever, but actual sentences.

5 Likes

I mean, it’s not the most complex Japanese there is, but when you start learning, you come across sentences like, これはペンです、私は学生です。

Those are actual sentences, and from there you start mixing things up and reading harder sentences.

If you mean specifically about kanji, or harder grammar, then it depends at what level you’re trying to read.

Not everything starts super hard, but most people don’t want to read short stories aimed towards children or stuff like that that’s easy enough for complete beginners.

18 Likes

When I realized that googling things in Japanese and scrolling through the results felt very casual to me.

26 Likes

When there’s Japanese writing displayed on Japanese TV and I just read it quickly in Japanese in my heart and understand it in Japanese without translating it.

11 Likes

after 1 year of attending language school, i recently bought a manga and can read it mostly casually. sometimes i look up words, but grammar is not challenging in this specific one that i bought. it feels like nice to finally be able to use japanese without needing to try/focus so hard. still a long way to go though!

4 Likes

That’s hard to quantify. To read anything at all? Like the other comment mentioned, takes maybe days to weeks. これはペンです

A year and a half in here, I feel like I can read a majority of NHK Easy News stuff, complete sentences, and understand it. Fewer and fewer unknown kanji and vocabulary.