What's your sweet spot for number of items in each SRS bucket?

I’m still working my way through the free levels (I’ll probably end up getting a subscription after I finish level 3), and so far the pace feels good if I keep the Apprentice bucket at 50-60, and Guru around 250. However, I’m also not a complete beginner at Japanese, so I already know a reasonable chunk of what’s being presented (though I am learning some new stuff as I go, and improving recognition of things I only slightly knew). I want to make sure I don’t bury myself once I get to the point where it’s 90%+ new material for me. I have no specific completion date I’m targeting, just staying within the realistic limits of my schedule (married, employed full-time).

What kind of numbers do you folks shoot for in each of the high-level buckets?

1 Like

I made a userscript that uses this info and calculates the numbers of reviews you can expect on an average day with your current SRS distribution. I like to keep this number below 400 and preferably around 300

1 Like

0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 8808

this is a sentence so I can post this comment

9 Likes

The magic number you’ll hear a lot is 100 apprentice items, you can go to 120~ but then stop lessons, the rest is whatever, it’ll come when it comes you can’t control them (except by not doing anything, they won’t ever move)

Then it just depends on how much time you can put on WK, some people do like 5 lessons a day and thats fine, they might be hovering near 20-40 apprentice items

I have no max for anything higher than apprentice. That may change later, but it goes well for now. I’ve noticed that my guru is stable around 600, and master around 700. My enlightened is currently blowing up like crazy :')