What WK Level Should You Start Reading Japanese Literature, Manga, Light Novels etc

Hey guys,

I’m a fairly new WK user, but I’ve been learning Japanese for 7 months now. One of the things i really want to start as soon as possible is reading Japanese books, purely because thats the best way to absorb grammar, vocab etc.

My Kanji knowledge is pretty much at my WK level, but i was curious at which level is a good level to start reading Japanese books, mangas etc?

1 Like

The general consensus is that you should start immersing yourself as much as possible right from the beginning.
As far as going by a wanikani level, I’d say between level 10-20 is a good starting point. At that point you’ll know quite a few common kanji. But I don’t think it’s a bad idea to try to read what you can now.
Though that being said, your wanikani level is not representative of your japanese skills, so proceed with cauton :wink:

7 Likes

As soon as you can, provided the stuff you’re interested in reading isn’t really complex. I’d definitely recommend starting with manga, as visual clues help a lot compared to something like a novel.

How smoothly you can transition into it will have a lot to do with how long you’ve been immersed in Japanese media. That was me for about 18 years before I started WK, so I had a lot of grammar and stuff learned informally though osmosis, which helped me start reading without formally studying grammar (yet). The less Japanese you’ve been informally exposed to, the more you might need to formally study before you can feel comfortable reading and such.

But give it a try. I bet you’ll understand more than you expected. That was the case with me and it’s only gone better and better as I’ve stuck with WK.

2 Likes

I tried reading some baby books. It was hard, but satisfying. But it did make me decide to do some bunpro before getting into it.

I think that as far as beginners books go, Grammar is more a blocking issue than kanji… But maybe that’s just me