Reading Advice for absolute beginners - Should I reach a minimum level in WK before trying to read?

Hi there,

Is it better to start reading beginners text books at the same time as studying Wanikani, or should I wait to get to a specific level so that I can have base to understand what I’m reading?

I have tried a few times in the past but due to my current level I do not understand at all. Has anyone experience anything like this and would like to share some advice? Will it be better to wait until I reach level 10 for example?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,

3 Likes

Im on the same boat man.

Most things you read starting out will have furigana readings besides the kanji. For this reason, you can read various materials with zero kanji knowledge.

What is most important will be grammar knowledge and after that vocabulary.

Have you started learning grammar yet, and if so, how far along are you?

11 Likes

I would also like some hints on reading. I have tried to do things on line and get lost.
I have a basic understanding of grammar but I want to read some real stuff not only sample sentences. Thanks

1 Like

Well, yes and no. Important here is to realise that Wanikani only covers one part of Japanese.

I think waiting until level 10 is fine. Although 6 7 or 8 is fine as well, dependent on your confidence, as well as your other background. For example, if you’ve been watching anime for 10 years and been paying attention to the language, you can start a lot earlier than someone who hasn’t consumed any content whatsoever. I mentioned anime, but it can be anything.
As others have mentioned, to start reading the kanji most of the time aren’t the problem. It mostly is familiarity with grammar. Also, at the start it may take a long time per sentence, which consumes motivation.