What should I do along side WK?

I have been doing WK for about a month now and am nearing level 5 so I’m gonna ask what else should i do along side WK? I wanna get better as fast as possible and i feel like i should do something on the side of WK do you have and recommendations?

5 Likes

It’s really going to depend on what you’re interested in and what you expect to get out of WK. Assuming you’re a complete beginner to Japanese this would be a good time to look into an introductory textbook (or equivalent resource, eg. Bunpro).

If you want to dip your toes into absolute beginner reading that’s kind of level appropriate try

And if you want harder reading something like the book clubs

9 Likes

You’re going to want to find a grammar resource, and a way to learn more vocab (both because Wanikani’s ordering is beholden to kanji simplicity more than maximizing word usefulness, and because a lot of words you need to know don’t tend to use kanji). How you do that is your preference – personally, I got the early stages of both out of the way by using the Genki textbook. If you don’t like textbooks, there are a lot of Youtube channels and other online resources for grammar (Cure Dolly’s channel teaches a lot of concepts differently from other resources and some people swear by her, otherwise you can use something free online like Tae Kim’s guide). If you can tolerate another SRS, I’d recommend Anki decks for vocab if you’re not going to use a textbook (or even if you are, you can SRS the book’s vocab). The Tango N5 and N4 decks, while I haven’t used them myself, are frequently recommended.