Just a couple questions about this website

Hello, as you can probably tell from my level, I’m new here, so sorry if this is in an unacceptable format or something. I just have a few questions.

What other resources do you use to learn Japanese?

Would I need to use an outside resource to be able to read Japanese by the end of using this website? (And understand what it actually saying)

About what level should I be before I consider getting something from the beginner level book club selection?

I am pretty decent at reading Hiragana and uhh… ok with Katakana (much harder for me for some reason.) I have been using Rosetta Stone for about a couple months but for some reason I have stopped recently, and I am trying to get back into it. Sometimes motivation is an issue I guess. But I am really trying! Any tips from some more experienced people would be really nice!

Thank you in advance! (^∇^)

1 Like

There’s an entire forum section dedicated to sharing resources at #japanese-language:resources. You will definitely need other resources outside of WaniKani. WaniKani only really teaches kanji and some vocabulary.

3 Likes

Katakana is harder for me too, perhaps because I don’t see it as often as hiragana.

4 Likes

You will need a textbook in addition to this website. It is crucial. Genki is often suggested.

I personally use Japanese: The Spoken Language, but I am very unsure if I would suggest this book to someone who is self-studying, especially for someone new to the language.

3 Likes

Hardest part for me is de-conjugation and decoding sentences (i.e. Grammar). Grammar didn’t seep into me enough, maybe because I didn’t actively use it. WaniKani and Anki is more about vocab.

Katakana is hard to learn by just learning sentences and grammar. I really recommend drilling Katakana vocab separately, e.g. on Memrise, and your Katakana recognizing skills will improve dramatically. Similar to how WaniKani teaches you Kanji, I think.

I think learning a language is about