Anything I should be doing alongside the early stages of WK?

I started learning Japanese through Tofugu’s ultimate guide and when they first mentioned WaniKani, they said to wait until level 10 to start using Anki and learning grammar. In the meantime, is there anything you guys would recommend me doing while I get there? I’ve heard some people say they wished they started reading sooner to really cement the Kanji in their heads but what would I look for to read? I also heard others mention a site that uses WaniKani’s API to learn vocab the other way around since they couldn’t recall it outside of reviews but I can’t seem to find what was mentioned. Aside from that, is there anything else you guys would recommend? Thanks!

1 Like

The “other way around” site you’re thinking of is likely KaniWani, where you’re given an English word and asked to input the Japanese for it.

Everyone begins their grammar studies at different times, but many people disagree with the “wait until level 10” notion that Tofugu states. There’s nothing particularly beneficial about waiting that long IMO, and beginner grammar resources tend to use furigana with everything so kanji won’t hinder your learning. I think seeing vocab in your grammar studies also helps further cement the words you learn here on WK.

So I think now’s a good time to delve into grammar studies, personally. If you prefer the textbook route, I’d recommend Genki since it has good, clear explanations for grammar points. It also has an accompanying workbook with exercises (sold separately). If you want something more similar to WK for grammar, Bunpro is a site created by WK users where you have lessons and reviews for grammar points. I believe it has a free trial.

For reading material, when I was at an ultra beginner level I really liked these graded readers, though they are expensive. But there are several different levels of them, from zero to four I think, and they come with CDs to provide additional listening practice.