What lvl to start reading?

So at what level is it possible to give absolute beginner reading material a shot?

I’m still a long way from there, but I would just like to get a little dot on the horizon to know when I can possibly getting my hands on reading material.

4 Likes

Level 0! As soon as possible.

10 Likes

Why not give it a try now? Just remember to study grammar too :wink:

8 Likes

Allright! I’ll dive into it then :slight_smile:

Im working on my grammar during the weekly lessons with my teacher, they are mainly grammar focused so wanikani is my go to source to expand reading skills as we aren’t learning kanji in the lessons.

1 Like

I guess you already read something in Japanese, right? At least some example sentences and such.

Were you asking about the absolute biginner book club perhaps? I don’t really know what the level is for the book they are currently reading.

3 Likes

Yes, start right away. A lot grade 0 readers use mostly hiragana, so it’s not like you’ll be lacking kanji knowledge. And reading speed improves only with practice! Check out

for a massive list of freely available low level resources!

5 Likes

Thank you, I will definitely check it out and see if I can buy some of the books this book club has been reading.

I will follow your advice to start straight away and not wait till I reach a certain level

3 Likes

Me at your level: Suggestions for no furigana mangas!
Me now, 4 years later: Dang! Current bookclub is no furigana :cold_sweat: (I am attempting it, but the suggestions I got and bought 4 years ago are collecting dust… maybe soon =P )

And yeah, you have gotten a link to my Graded Readers “Book Club”. I still love the lvl 0 books, such confidence boost to read them compared to advanced stuff =P

2 Likes