At what level one could start reading easy japanese books

i guys, i’m still a beginner japanese learner, i’m currently at level 3 here on wanikani and i’m at half book 3 of japanese from zero (George Trombley’s one) and half Genki I book. and i of course i think that is still too early for me to start reading japanese material or starting a chat on Hello Talk. at what level do you think one can start reading easy book with kanji and can have a small conversation on hello talk ?

2 Likes

Your ability to read is very dependent on you grammar level as well. In the following thread is a curated lst for starting to read Japanese!

Resources for Starting to Read Japanese Content

For conversation you can start anytime, I think, but you’ll find ourself confronted with unknown words and grammar very quickly. In that case you can say things like:

すみません、「???」は何ですか? What is “???”?

3 Likes

thank you so much :blush: :heart: :

For reading, you want to have a bedrock of basic grammar in place. This will allow you to make at least some sense out of what you are reading.

Next is learning vocabulary words. You can focus on learning vocabulary words via WaniKani, or you can also use other resources. You don’t need to learn a lot of vocabulary words before you start reading, but the fewer words you know, the more you’ll have to look up.

In order to understand the grammar and to remember vocabulary, you need to encounter them in a meaningful way. This is where reading books comes in. (As well as other activities, such as conversations with others.)

I often recommend the Absolute Beginner Book Club. It’s a great way to discover simple books. The discussion threads have questions and answers about the grammar, and understanding the material. And there will often be a vocabulary list to help with looking up what the words mean.

5 Likes

thank you, this is so useful

With Tadoku Graded Readers you can basically start at WK level 0.

5 Likes