What does WaniKani NOT teach you?

Hey there! I’m pretty new here and had a few questions.

So reading around, this place seems like a amazing community and place to learn from. But I’ve also read a lot about how WaniKani is mostly a place for learning kanji and not much else. Is that ture? Also I’m new to Japanese learning as well. I’ve learned hirigata and katakana and barely know any kanji, which this site should help with, but besides that I feel like there is still a lot I’m missing out on.

So basically my question is, is their anything else this site doesn’t offer that is a must to learn, that’s very important to speaking/reading Japanese?

Thanks for reading and I hope this can be helpful for other beginners too.

1 Like

Kanji is the roadblock of most Japanese learners. Grammar can be grinded, listening can slowly improve over time with Japanese friends and, if you get the chance to, living in Japan. However after a while most learners get to this stage where they can speak pretty decently, understand more than they can say, but they cant read a menu, they have issues with writing simple Japanese sentances and pretty much have the Kanji ability equal to or lower than an elementary school student.

From me, WK is one of the best places to learn Kanji and in conjunction to that you also can learn vocabulary and it provides numerous sentances and examples for new words which in turn helps with grammer.

If your a new learner, definately grab some textbooks that work for you also, Genki 1, Minna no nihongo,…etc (find what you like) and weave WK into those studies.

4 Likes

Thanks for the reply! That clears a few things up for me. I’ll be sure too go look at some textbooks and other sites.

1 Like

Doesn’t teach me nuclear physics ANIME%20NITRO%20EMOTE%20SERVER-1

35 Likes

From wkstats

3 Likes

On the contrary, I’d say learning 6,300 words counts as quite a whole lot of “else.”