WaniKani "Context" section: at what point were you able to understand it?

I’m a beginner in Japanese. I’m currently going through Genki 1 and in WaniKani I am level 3. When doing WaniKani lessons I can hardly ever understand the “Context” and “Word use” sections.

If I keep studying Genki 1 and then Genki 2, when can I expect to be able to get more from those sections? Or maybe I won’t even by the end of Genki 2?

Has anyone had a similar experience?

2 Likes

The biggest issue will be the words, around 30 you’ll know most. Besides whenever you start to read them, or books, it’s harder to apply grammar than knowing it.
I don’t personally read the Japanese though, just the English to get a sense of how the word is used

1 Like

Most of the context section (as in the word use examples) didn’t exist when I was doing the early levels that are full of it now, but…

I would think Genki 1 could get you to understand a lot of it, given that primarily you just need to know how the particles work. を, の, に, etc. That’s all so fundamental that the first Genki book should equip you with at least some idea of what they do.

The full example sentences, on the other hand? Pretty universally disliked around here. There are some scripts to add other examples (like one from anime I believe) if you’re so inclined. But the WK provided ones are often written at much too high of a level for someone just starting out.

3 Likes

I don’t personally read the Japanese though, just the English to get a sense of how the word is used

That’s probably what I am supposed to do at this level. Thanks.

The full example sentences, on the other hand? Pretty universally disliked around here.

I don’t like them too. They are way too random, nothing like anything one might find when reading the usual beginner/intermediate material. They are in line with the crazy mnemonics though. Those I like a lot, as they have worked for me mostly.