Started WK as a student, finished as a teacher

I just finished Level 60 today after… 5 years! The lifetime subscription was well worth it. I took my time, though I planned to finish in a few years, life happened, and also opportunities happened.

5 years ago, I started WaniKani as a student learning Japanese language. 2 years after, I got an opportunity to teach basic Japanese in a school. I was able to quit my longtime job (doing something I did not enjoy) to have a career now that I truly love and enjoy.

In a span of 3 years, I had the amazing opportunities to teach hobbyists, enthusiasts, workers who are being sent to Japan, Japanese companies’ employees, university students and so on.

To those learning the language, may I impart these to you as I also leave the WK nest (I am currently studying N2 course and will be focusing on reading Japanese materials instead of burning all WK items).

• When you hit the intermediate wall, don’t give up and just power through
  • Gaining a language skill was truly life-changing for me, I hope it will be the same for you
  • Language is a lifelong learning journey and I hope you enjoy the process

Goodluck guys! And lastly, thank you Koichi for being an inspiration!

62 Likes

Big congrats on making it to the end! :partying_face: :tada:

2 Likes

as someone who just started using this, this is incredible

6 Likes

Congratulations! It’s amazing seeing the amount of stuff that can happen in somebody’s life from the beginning, to the end of their WK journey.

Wish you all the best from now on, and I’m happy that you’re enjoying life :tada: :clap::clap:

3 Likes

yup,

it is people like you that do succeed, and then inspire others to do the same

kudos to you

keep doing what you love and all the best to you

:3

2 Likes

Huge congratulations to you!!! :star_struck: :partying_face: :sparkles: :cherry_blossom: