So, I've turned on some scripts, and questions are raised

With the scripts that I’ve turned on, I can now see what’s I’m going to be quizzed on during upcoming reviews.

Is it cheating to study the stuff for the upcoming reviews? I’m not sure how studying on a study site is cheating, but figured I’d ask… I don’t want to destroy the whole SRS structure.

Do you mean ultimate timeline? I have the setting where the whole bar is blue so I don’t know exactly what’s coming.

But yeah, studying right before a review defeats the purpose of that review, since all you proved was that your short term memory is working.

6 Likes

Aye. The point of the Spaced Repetition System is the spacing. The aim is not to get 100% in each review, but rather to get things stored in your long-term memory.

2 Likes

What if I’m studying for the things I can see coming up tomorrow? Same thing?

Well, I mean, if it’s things for tomorrow and the wait time was 48 hours, it’s not that bad.

But if it’s a burn review, meaning you waited 4 months for this review to arrive, there’s a big difference between testing your 4 month memory and your 24 hour memory.

Generally speaking, people advise “organic” studying, meaning exposing yourself to actual Japanese content where these words and kanji will appear. No one considers that cheating and it will just reinforce things more naturally.

4 Likes

Just focus on the stuff you get wrong right after the review session :slight_smile: Take a couple extra minutes to do so. That’s pretty much 80% of the work in terms of reviewing on WK.

4 Likes

Maybe a good idea to turn that script off

2 Likes

Timeline has a setting to disable item details.

It’s worth noting, though, that you can use it to know what *not* to study if you have a regular drilling schedule.

4 Likes