Skip lessons when you have a sub?

Greetings,
i have been learning japanese for 2 years and im taking the JLPTN3 in summer. Currently working through the Tobira book. I know about 500+ Kanji already.

So, i saw that you cant skip lessons or increase the daily limit, and i guess it would take a couple months to catch up to my kanji comprehension. I saw someone wrote that you can increase lessons / do other levels if you have subscribed. Is that true? All i want is just to skip to the point where i am currently at and actually learn something.

I wonder if i would benefit from WaniKani if it takes a couple months to catch up to my current Kanji level. Specially those easier Kanji like N5 N4, i got those pretty much nailed down.

After you’ve subscribed, content of level 4 becomes available (once you’ve guru’d 90% of level 3 kanji).

Subscription does (afaik) not give you tools to increase lessons or open content outside the regular flow of things. You’ll have to work your way through the levels, at a minimum speed of around 7 days per level. So there is no way to skip to your current level.

Additionally, there isn’t really something like a ‘daily limit’. You’ll get lessons based on your progress. When you reach guru for a radical, you’ll unlock some kanji lessons that use that radical. When you reach guru for a kanji, you’ll unlock some of the vocab that use that kanji.

2 Likes

I started watching Gintama recently so I really like your profile picture now

2 Likes

To the best of my knowledge, the feature you’re asking about doesn’t exist. One of the reasons is that Wanikani teaches you kanji and vocab in a very specific way, and so it’s important that you learn the Wanikani radicals and mnemonics, because these come up again and again.