Should I take Japanese 2 at my university?

Hi Guys. So I started studying Japanese last year at my university and at around the same time, started using wanikani. Whenever I learn a vocab in wanikani, I always read the sentence and search up words and grammar patterns I don’t know. Now, I can pretty much read every sentence by simply looking up words that I don’t know.

I’m not sure if I should take Japanese 2 because I feel like I already know all the material, so the class might be kind of annoying. Unfortunately, my school doesn’t let us skip grades in languages after we’ve started, so I can’t take Japanese 3. So is it worth taking just for the review and formal introduction or should I just self study at this point? I was also thinking of asking for a special exception to allow me to jump a level, but I’m not sure if that’ll work.

In my lower intermediate class there are people who are already fluent in Japanese. Same as you, the university does not allow them to skip any steps, however, they still persevere and benefit frem the review. You may think that you’re really competent but more often than not these kinds of conceptions only exist in your imagination, waiting to be torn apart when reality shows its grim face.
I guess what I’m getting at is, do you want to Japanese? Nowadays it’s all about being able to document that you’ve undergone this and that in order for some potential bossman to validate whether or not you’re as competent as you think you are.

1 Like

It doesn’t hurt to ask. Maybe you could take the final exam for Japanese 2 or something.

Regardless of the wanikani sentences, are you comfortable reading/listening/writing/speaking at a Japanese 3 level? You might find it useful to take Japanese 2 to help build up other skills than just vocab and grammar.