Should I switch textbooks?

Hey! I’ve never used the community forums before so I hope I’m not doing this wrong, but I have some questions regarding which beginner textbook I should use. I know this is probably asked every day but I think my situation is a little different. I just finished Genki 1 3rd edition and luckily Genki 2 3rd edition was just released, but I’ve been looking into other resources and many people seem to say Minna no Nihongo is a better resource and I was wondering if making a switch from Genki 1 to MNN volume 2 would be possible. So I guess my questions are: Is the transition doable? Would it be worth it? Would it be better to just start from scratch with MNN but at a quicker pace (or would this just be a waste of money)? My original plan was to finish both Genki books and the go onto Tobira, but from what I’ve heard the Genki->Tobira jump has a larger gap than MNN->Tobira.

1 Like

I’ve never used either of the books, but I think it’s largely personal preference. Did you like Genki 1? Do you feel like it’s working for you? If so, just continue with Genki.

5 Likes

In my experience, I gained more from studying consistently, even with bad tools, than I did by jumping from one place to the other. Genki is not even a bad tool (from what I know, never used it), so I’d say you ought to just complete the “Genki track”. Once you’re done, if Tobira is too difficult, pick up another textbook like An Integrated Approach to Intermediate Japanese, and use it to bridge the gap so to say.

7 Likes

I’ve just started with Tobira (1st chapter) after Genki I and II, I’m only on the first chapter, and it feels fine. Next chapters might be harder, though.

Don’t forget that there is also a gap between Genki I and MNN II, as well as between MNN II and Tobira, so if you decide to switch, you’ll experience it twice.