Searching for a good Frequency list

Hi all,

I am new to studying Japanese and I am looking for a word list that has the 1000 most frequently spoken Japanese words. I have tried searching for it myself but all of the lists that I find online do not give any information on how the list was compiled. I would like one that gives a source so that I know I am learning useful vocabulary. When I learned Chinese I used a list that was compiled from the most common words spoken on television and it was extremely useful. Does anyone know of a list in Japanese that was compiled from spoken language? If not one from newspapers would probably be second best.

Thanks in advance for the help!

A quick search led me to this website: https://1000mostcommonwords.com/1000-most-common-japanese-words/, is this the kind of thing you’re looking for?

Wanikani stats has a list of frequency lists from various sources too.

They do but they are for kanji rather than vocab. Still very useful though and I like that they give sources.

Yes, I am looking for something like this but that says where they got the information from. I first tried to learn Chinese with the same website’s Chinese list and the list for Chinese was completely inaccurate. This is why I am skeptical of lists that don’t provide sources. Thanks though.

1 Like

Have you tried kamesame. They have 10 thousand most common vocabulary. I believe they also have a source

Edit: they say it is from NINJAL :space_invader:

Thank you so much this is what I was looking for and more! I don’t even need to spend hours making anki cards since I can just use the site. So far learning Japanese has way more resources than mandarin ever did and I appreciate it.

1 Like

glad i helped.

Be careful which frequency list you use.

Until recently I was using a list which I think was created from words found in newspapers. And over the months there were many ranking that made no sense. Words I came across often were ranked 60K+