Saying I love you

Let me preface this question by saying that I know “I love you” is a phrase that isn’t used much in Japan, but I’m trying to collect lots of opinions on this to see what people will say.

My girlfriend and I are learning Japanese, and to get more used to the language we’ve been saying small phrases to get used to them. One thing we’ve always done is say “Good night, I love you”–over text–before we sleep. Good night we’re familiar with, but what would be the most accurate way of saying “I love you”, and especially “I love you too” that doesn’t sound overly bookish or just really wrong? So far we’ve been using:

おやすみ。好きだ。
おやすみ。私も好きだ。

Based on some answers I’ve gotten to this elsewhere this may just be a really bad question but I figured it can’t hurt to ask.

4 Likes

Surprisingly enough this is a good question and can have a few different answers.
So I am by no means an expert on this, but from what I can tell in the context of a couple like yourselves 好きだ works fine.

If your looking for very literal translations it goes
好き = like
大好き = Really like (aka love)
愛してる = To love romantically

I know this makes it seem like what your saying to each other is just like “I like you” but with the current usage of the word, that is just context based and can easily mean “I love you”.

愛してる has more of a lovey dovey ROMCOM feel to it. Like there is a lot of passion behind it which does not fit super well in most Japanese societal norms.

For saying I love you back I am much less certain, my grammar is pretty bad so do not let me be your go to source, but it kinda feels like your response could be interpreted as I love me too.

3 Likes

In Japan, couples don’t really say this to each other, which makes this awkward to translate. This video might be helpful:

They do mention saying 愛してる to each other often, although it was awkward for Jun (the boyfriend) to get used to it.

3 Likes