Resetting from level 29 to Level 1

So I’ve been using WaniKani for around 6 years now and only got to 29th level. I’ve been pretty obsessed with it before the quarantine, doing reviews multiple times a day, but kept on burning out due to never-ending reviews.

I even had a thread on it here: How fast should I be progressing?

Around 6 months ago I put WaniKani on vacation and it’s been the longest time ever for not doing any reviews. I tried to get into learning Japanese through other means, like Anki, MochiCards and others… But I’ve realised that since putting WaniKani on hold, I just didn’t have the same gusto when it came to my progress with vocab (I do still learn Japanese weekly with a private tutor)

Yet thinking of the 400 items in review, that I couldn’t clear for months on end before going into vacation mode, makes me not wanting to go back. So with that in mind, I decided to finally pull the trigger and reset to Level 1

I plan to follow @jprspereira method that he suggested me years ago, which will look like follows:

• Learn10 new items per day
  • 3 review sessions a day
    • 9am → [learn 10 new items here]
    • 1pm
    • 9pm
  • Aim for a level up every 7 days

With this speedy approach, I am hoping to not be overwhelmed and instead move quickly. I also plan to not follow my previous approach to trying to burn everything and instead focus on learning new stuff instead and worry about reviews less.

I am hoping this will let me go through the wall that was level 30 and finally reinvigorate lost passion for learning new kanji daily. Hence wanted to start this topic to get me both motivated even more and have some sort of diary like log of my progress… cause it is quite scary to reset a 6 years of progress

11 Likes