Recommendations for japanese music

Hello everyone!

This is my first post and I know there are tons of threads like this, but it’s all so overwhelming and I really don’t have time to listen to all of the recommendations not knowing if it’s my taste. So please bear with me!

So basically, I have no experience with Japanese modern music. I like City Pop and that’s about it. I would really appreciate some recommendations for a beginner like me. I love harmonious western 70s and 80s music, artists like Depeche Mode, Dead or Alive, Modern Talking, Queen (70s) etc. Is there something like that from Japan as well?

Also, I’ve been obsessed with SHINee, a k-pop group, does anyone know them? I love Taemin’s solo music especially, so if anyone has some recommendations in that field, I would really appreciate it. So something similar to concepts of k-pop would be fine too, especially because I want a group that I can get invested in and watch shows and interviews from like those in Korea to practice my listening skills.
Korean entertainment shows based around idols are superb but since Japanese is my target language I want to listen to more Japanese.

I’m very sorry to create another of those recommendations thread (I don’t even know if I’m in the right category), hope you have a great day and a wonderful start into the new year!

Thank you in advance!

10 Likes

Here’s one of my favorites: Spotify

4 Likes

Hmm, a foreigner accessible “idol” group that has lots of content you can listen to? Paging @yamitenshi for the sales pitch I can’t pull off.

I can’t give any serious recommendations, but as far as artists kind of riding that modern/korean wave pop sound there was Reol who unfortunately already broke up as a unit after a single album (the “lead”, still doing her thing under the same name). That said, my concept of k-pop is also like a decade out of date lol.

3 Likes

The best thing I can suggest for you is to follow my Spotify Playlist.