Recognising vocab

I am only level 5 on Wanikani yet I feel like I’ve learned so many words already. I’ll be watching an anime and hear a word that I understand due to the vocab section in Wani Kani. however, 99% of the time I won’t hear the word and will need subtitles to be able to hear it due to recognizing the kanji used. Is there anything that can help me get past this or will I just have to learn through watching more shows? Thanks!
Edit: Just so you know im a complete beginner, still on Genki 1.
Edit 2: I also cant really remember Vocab without seeing it infront of me. For example, i wont remember how to see baby until i see 赤ちゃん infront of me. I associate English to the kanji But i cannot associate Japanese to english.

1 Like

Every vocabulary item has audio samples with both a male and female speaker.

I’m a big fan of the self-study quiz which has options playing these samples while you perform “out-of-band” reviews.

You might benefit from regularly doing self-study quizzes using the Vocabulary Audio → Meaning and Vocabulary Audio → Reading settings.

If you want to improve your listening comprehension and spoken Japanese, I think it’s incredibly important to hear the readings (in your, uh, “mind’s ear”) as you go through your reviews. The audio recordings let you use your real ears. :slight_smile:

To be clear: you can also play the audio in your actual Wanikani Reviews. It’s under your app settings.

3 Likes

This comes with practice. The more you listen, the more you will pick up on individual words. Give yourself time. You are still a beginner, as you said. It will come. Don’t stress. Enjoy your listening and watching!

5 Likes

I’m not entirely sure I understand what you mean, but recall is much easier with context. Even native Japanese speakers struggle to recall individual kanji with no other context: it’s much easier when it’s used in a sentence, especially as part of a 熟語(じゅくご) compound word or with surrounding hiragana.