Recognizing vocab through kanji readings only

I am currently studying grammar for my first JLPT (N4) and my Japanese proficiency is all over the place. As a result of grinding Wanikani for 2+ years and nothing else, my kanji/vocab is easily N3 level but that’s only when I read it as kanji.

When I see vocab terms shows up as hiragana only or audio, I have trouble recognizing what it is until I look it up and facepalm for not recognizing the word. The hiragana problem will probably resolve itself when I move on from N4 resources that try to “baby” me with hiragana instead of kanji, but the listening bit is a problem

Is this a result of wanikani reviews being only in one format (漢字 → reading/description), resulting in skewed learning unless we study outside this system?

I also realized I had turned off the autoplay sounds a long time ago for various reasons, but probably lost out on years of passive audio repetition as a result. Do you use the autoplay?

1 Like

If WK didn’t have autoplay I would not be using it. And you’re correct, WK teaches kanji, you’ll need to supplement it. I won’t pretend to know what your ideal solution might be, but personally, if I were in your position, I’d spend more time working on listening and speaking. Maybe try one of the shadowing books.

1 Like

That’s the norm.

Kanji help in recognition because of the meanings attached to them.

For recall, you need repetition/immersion/using the word.

3 Likes

Once you start reading more you’ll internalize it more. Language doesn’t have any secret to it, its generally just a game of how much exposure do you have with the word/grammar/kanji/etc.

I did a similar thing to you where I just grinded WK for a year then took grammar and everything seriously after the fact. It takes a month or so of reading before you stop doing it for all kanji. You’ll eventually be able to read the hiragana and put together quickly what word you’re looking at but that takes time and exposure.

Good luck out there.