Reading experience

Hi,
I was curious if anyone here h as any one here ever gotten to a level in which they could read the monogatari series and enjoy it? As this is a huge aspirations that I would like to one day be able to do. I understand it’s very difficult but what level do you think it would be best to start trying?

I’m in the same boat! I started learning Japanese to be able to read the Monogatari Series. I’m almost a year into studying and can start reading some of the more simple stuff. But still far from comfortably reading pages at a time! Happy Studying!

1 Like

Funny you ask this right when I am about to dive into Bakemonogatari. I read a few pages already and it seems quite doable.

As far as I am aware no one mentioned reading Monogatari on this forum but people read plenty of difficult books. Check out the tadoku thread.

3 Likes

It has been nominated in the Advanced book club but it has not been picked yet:

You are very welcome to vote for it in the next poll if you like, but please be aware that it’s the advanced club, i.e. the club will probably read the book at a pace of 30 - 45 pages per week…

4 Likes

Interesting out of curiosity what level are you currently in terms of jlpt and experience learning if you don’t mind me asking?

If i had problems understanding the anime with english subs, i can’t imagine how hard the books must be lol

1 Like

Haha yeah but apparently the experience of acc understanding it in Japanese is even better because of all of the puns made though.

1 Like

Yea, its a goal of mine too. But i expect to be able to read it in maybe 1-2 years :rofl:

1 Like

Lol that sounds pretty good forums I saw on redditt suggested that it would take 6+years

1 Like

Maybe im too optimistic then

I read 伊勢物語 and 源氏物語. Does that count?

3 Likes