Radical Review Too Long

I’m really enjoying learning kanji with Wanikani but these radical reviews seem too long. I like that Wanikani teaches radicals, kanji, and vocabulary in that order but I feel that once I reach guru level of the corresponding kanji then the radical is not needed. For example Wanikani teaches 母 in radical form as drawer (so odd btw especially since father taught “correctly up front) then kanji is introduced as mother. I don’t understand why after reaching guru on this kanji it continues to test me the weird drawer reading which if I understand correctly is just used to get you to the correct meaning of mother. Anyways I’m enjoying Wanikani overall besides my impatienciness because I am not a beginner. Also I wish they would stick to traditional radical English meaning.

2 Likes

The radicals don’t go away once you’re done with that level. They’re reused throughout different ones.

1 Like

In the case of that radical, it is never used again.

Presumably they felt that the jump straight to “mother” as a meaning was too abstract.

Plenty of people disagree.

They should really overhaul the radicals or something.

3 Likes

I know that is my issue. I feel like they are not need once you learn the corresponding Kanji.

This is an exception to the general rule of how radicals are used. Generally they appear in many different kanji.

Yes I agree I learned this radical as mother many years ago without confusion.

I mean, in all honesty I don’t think it’s worth the work. You rehaul radicals you gotta rehaul the entire course pretty much.

Okay, that’s a legit criticism then. If it only appears once that’s a little weak.

Well, they’re already doing it, so there’s not much to discuss. We just have to continue to endure these topics until they make the changes take effect.

2 Likes

Oh ok I see what you mean. When you put it this way I see the need for the enforcement for those further compound kanji’s.