Radical only study, to make own mnomics when watching anime

Edit : There’s a WK deck for anki you can look up. I simply sorted in the anki client browser by “object” to find all the 480ish radical cards and moved them to a separate deck. now I’m gonna try and blast through all of them so I can create my own cards on the fly watching anime.

there is also heisig RTK anki deck for radicals , which I might download . it is only 217 radicals (wk has broken some of the radicals into smaller components) , but might be usefull since I’m studying chinese aswell.

Hey. tbh, I’ve had wanikani for a while, It helps but I find it hard to be interested. I’d like to venture into something abit more immersive , such as watching anime with english and jp subs simutaniously and creating my own anki cards for kanji using that. wanikani anime sentence is super cool atm, but i’d like to work my way slowly through an anime episode, get the kanji and meanings , get the audio on my phone - listen through when i want during the day, and rinse repeat. I’m just way more motivated to speak and comprehend rather than reading , that what gets me excited the most.

so, I was thinking of learning outside of wanikani , all of the radicals , so when I watch an anime I’l be able to quickly in my head create a mnemonic for new kanji and words, without needing to pause at each kanji, open wanikani, search the kanji, find the radicals it’s made of, create an srs card in anki, continue the episode…
any anki decks I can do that with? or with torii etc?

I use animelon to watch with both subtitles and hiragana, and yomichan to quickly get translation.

1 Like

There’s this list that @Belthazar kindly put together:

6 Likes

Just in case you want an updated list taking into account any new moves/etc., this script should help out:

1 Like

That’s cool! Might crack this into an anki deck today.

Just FYI you should avoid getting into the habit of using this as an abbreviation for Japanese. Use “jp.”