Questions about using subs for language learning

I have heard kitsuneko recommended for obtaining subtitles for anime. I really like the feature set of Animelon and Anjsub.

Unfortunately:

1. Animelon is extremely poorly maintained with videos regularly breaking–currently all videos are broken–and I don’t want to have to depend on Animelon being functional for planning my studying.
  2. Anjsub, on the other hand, generally works just fine, although I want to watch a lot of anime not available on Anjsub, and I want to have an option in the future to watch any anime I want.

I like the idea of being able to buy whatever anime I want and add kitsuneko subs with the following feature set:

1. I can highlight, copy, and instantly translate subs.
  2. I can use shortcuts to easily skip to the previous or next line of dialogue.

Does anyone know if these are already possible in VLC player or similar?

(Also note that I am an experienced software engineer, so if making plugins is easy enough, I can probably make such a tool myself and share it with the community.)

I don’t recommend using subs for anime. Your brain can’t do both listening and reading so it’ll have to compromise.

I know it’s really tempting to mix both because you feel like you are understanding more but it won’t allow you to progress properly.

So use raw anime for listening and manga for reading. Or you can simply use the transcript as a bonus. Basically, you watch the anime without subtitles, and whenever you don’t understand something you check the transcript.

Nonetheless, you can fast forward on VLC but I don’t think you have the same feature as animelon. So you can do it manually by pressing the arrow key and skipping the “blank” moments. At least, that’s how I would do it. Maybe there is another alternative I don’t know.

2 Likes

There’s this:
https://voracious.app/

It’s usable if a bit janky. It’s got a few nice features such as hiding subs until you repeat a line and Anki export.