Question marks?

I just started learning grammar with Bunpro as it seemed quite popular amongst WaniKani users. So far, it’s been quite good.

One thing I did notice, though, is that question marks seemed to… not exist in Japanese. Is that the case, or do they appear later on? (only on level 1 of Bunpro)

For example, 「これはロビーの本でしょう。」<- a sentence like that was translated as “This is Robbie’s book, right?” (I changed あなた for ロビー because that’s my bro’s name)

There are no question marks in that, but か also doesn’t appear (か was in the lesson right before でしょう)

Any guidance regarding this matter would be wonderful. Thank you all. <3
Also, if any of you have tips for my grammar studies, I’d love to hear them!

Ah, another thing: if there is a better place to ask questions like this, I’d love to know. I am still finding my way around the WaniKani Community. =D

1 Like

There are question marks.

The question mark is implied in the でしょう as it’s a a sentence ender that is similar to say “right?” and would be accompanied with a raised intonation like a question as with か.

2 Likes

Do you have any example sentences that use question marks? Or are you saying that the question marks are part of sentence enders?

Thanks for the quick response, too.

No, I’m saying question marks are implied by the sentence ending word accompanied by the raised intonation. But, yes, here’s an example sentence with a question mark:

Question marks are used in more casual writing (or when writing out casual speech) where one wouldn’t use か. For example, 大丈夫?vs 大丈夫ですか。

7 Likes

Ah. My bad there.

Thank you. That answers all of my questions. What manga is that, mind you? I certainly don’t recognise it, but I am curious now.

Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure.

2 Likes