How do I start to piece it all together?

Howdy, first post here. I’ve always had a desire to know Japanese, but aside from briefly trying kana flashcard apps several years ago, I never even got started. After my first (and so far only) visit to Japan in 2018, I started to think more seriously about learning the language. My primary interest, honestly, is to play video games in Japanese (mostly older ones, but newer ones too), with secondary benefits possibly being able to get more out of any future trips to Japan and being able to edit Japanese interviews more easily (I’m a videographer and that was the purpose of my trip… aside from recklessly buying every Super Famicom cartridge that struck my fancy).

This past spring, I was planning to take summer classes for Japanese at a local university, but the cost was significantly higher than I was expecting, so I backed out, not sure how to proceed. Well, some friends and I (one of which knows Japanese) recently decided to play Dragon Quest X (still only available in Japanese), and after sampling the game and feeling completely captivated by that good old fashioned Dragon Quest flavor, I immediately felt a desire to comprehend it on a deeper level than simply knowing that the attack I want is the fifth one down on the third menu selection.