Quality of Response Measurement

I have been using WaniKani for a few months and am starting to research the topic of SRS on the side. After some research, I’ve found that WaniKani and several other SRS apps these days have their scheduling based on the SM2 algorithm. I was wondering if anyone is privy to how WaniKani rates the quality of response to ensure I am progressing through my levels as efficiently as possible.

Some thoughts I’ve had on how they could rate between 0-5 as the SM2 algorithm relies on.

• Time based - less than 10 seconds, less than 30 seconds, etc.
  • Partially correct - Answers that have some of the correct hiragana might get partial credit and award you a 2 instead of a 0 for failing

Thanks in advance for tips on helping me better my leveling and/or educating me on the SRS scheduling that WaniKani employs.

Even Koichi has admitted that the WK SRS intervals may not be optimal/perfect. On the other hand, I’m not convinced that we have to find the “perfect” SRS intervals to be able to learn. Yes, some research went into the SM2 algorithm and it’s still being improved all the time. But using SM2 as the algorithm basis for WK SRS is good enough.

2 Likes

Maybe the perfect interval depends on the person as well

2 Likes

I’d say that the WK intervals are completely fine, as they allow you to build a very nice schedule with your lessons and reviews. The only thing missing from WK is the lack of SRS really (i.e. the ability to do more quizzes of the lessons learned). I believe some binge of recent learned items together with SRS really solidifies the whole thing much better.

To understand what I’m talking about when I mentioned WK’s schedule, please read chapter 5 of my guide (if you haven’t already):

2 Likes

If you’re asking about how WaniKani works, I don’t think they judge answers beyond right/wrong. This article in the FAQ has some more detail about how WaniKani calculates SRS level.

4 Likes